In the Log File Management sub-tab, you can define when Replicate should roll over the server log files (repsrv and repcmd) and tasks log files (reptask_<task_name>) and when to delete old log files from the system.
You can determine when to stop logging to the current log file and begin to log to a new log file. Rolled over log files are appended with a 12-digit timestamp. The current server log file is named repserv while saved (older) server log files are named repserv_xxxxxxxxxxxx.
The current running task log file is named reptask_<task_name> while saved (older) task log files are named reptask_<task_name>_xxxxxxxxxxxx.
For both server and task saved log file names, xxxxxxxxxxxx represents a 12-digit timestamp.
Roll over the log if the log file is older than (days): Select the check box and then specify the maximum number of days the current log file is allowed to exist before being rolled over.
The default value is 7 days.
Roll over the log if the log file is larger than (MB): Select the check box and then specify the maximum number of megabytes the current log file is allowed to reach before being rolled over.Note:
When the Store trace/verbose logging in memory, but if an error occurs, write to the logs option is enabled, the actual size of the repsrv.log may reach the sum of the Allocate memory up to (MB) size and the Roll over the log if the log file is larger than (MB) size, before it is rolled over.
For more information on the "Store trace/verbose logging in memory" option, see Setting logging levels for the Server and File Transfer Service
The default value is 100 megabytes.
If you edit this setting while tasks are running, the new setting will not affect the task log files until the tasks are stopped and then resumed. The server log files are not affected by this limitation.
The scheduled process (LogFileCleanLogs) that checks the log file size runs every five minutes. Consequently, the actual size/age of the rolled over log file may deviate slightly from the specified value(s).
- The time of a file is determined by its "modified" time as opposed to its "created" time.
You can determine the maximum number of days old log files (i.e. log files that have been rolled over) are retained before being deleted.
Delete log files that are older than (days): Select the check box and then specify the maximum number of days to retain a saved log file. Log files that are older than the specified number of days will be automatically deleted from the system. For example, if you specify 4, then on the fifth day, any log file older than 4 days will be deleted.
The default value is 45 days.