Document CALs

On the Document CALs tab, the assignment of document Client Access Licenses (CALs) to users can be managed.

Note: This tab is only available if document CALs are included in the QlikView Server license.

See: Licenses

Note: Assigning of a CAL does not imply access to the document.

Summary

Presents the following document CAL information:

  • Document CALs Available on Server, meaning the number of document CALs that the current license contains.
  • Document CALs Not Allocated on Server, meaning the number of document CALs that are not yet allocated to any document.
  • Document CALs Allocated to this Document, meaning the number of document CALs allocated to the current document.
  • Document CALs Embedded in Document, meaning the number of document CALs within the current document, which are assigned to users.
  • Document CALs Assigned to Users, meaning the number of document CALs that are already embedded in the current document.

Document CALs

Number of CALs Allocated to this Document

The number of document CALs that should be allocated to the current document. By default, this value is set to '0' (zero). To change the value, enter the desired value in this text box. To reset the value to zero again, enter '0' (zero) in the text box.

Allow Dynamic CAL Assignment

If this option is used, a new document CAL will automatically be granted to a user connecting to this QlikView Server for the first time, as long as there are available document CALs to assign. To allow the QlikView Server to assign CALs to any user that opens the document, tick this check box. To deny the QlikView Server to assign CALs to any user that opens the document, untick this check box.

Assigned Users

Presents the assignment of document CALs to users in a list. Document CALs can be assigned to users either automatically, see 'Allow Dynamic CAL Assignment', or manually. To manually assign the current document CALs to a user, do the following:

To manage users, click on the Manage Users dialog icon, .

  • Default Scope
  • Select the directory to be searched, in the drop-down list.

  • Search for Users
  • Enter the desired search term(s) in this text box, to find a user, and click on the Search icon, .

    See: User Management Search Functions

  • Search Result
  • This box presents the result of the search, using the desired criteria.

  • Add >
  • To add a user, click on it in the Search Result box and click on this button. Several items can be added at the same time.

  • Selected Users
  • This box presents the selected users.

  • < Delete
  • To deselect a user, click on it in the Selected Users box and click on this button. Several items can be deselected at the same time.

  • << Delete All
  • To deselect all of the users from the Selected Users box, click on this button.

  • Manual Input of User Names
  • This field is used for manual input of user names that do not exist in the specified directory. If the entered user name exists in a directory in the Default Scope drop-down list, the user is listed in the Selected Users box the next time the dialog is launched.

Name

Presents a list of the names of all users currently holding a document CAL on the current document. A user can represent an authenticated User Name or a Machine Name.

See: General

Last Used (UTC)

The time stamp (UTC) from the last server activity of each user.

Quarantined Until (UTC)

If a CAL-to-user association has not been in use for the last 7 days, it will be deleted immediately. If a CAL-to-user association is currently being used or has recently been used, it will be marked for deletion, which means that new user access sessions through this CAL are not allowed. However, the CAL-to-user association will still occupy an allocated CAL until this quarantine period has passed.

Restore

Before that the Quarantined Until (UTC) time stamp has passed, a CAL-to-user association can be undeleted, by clicking on the Restore icon, .

Delete

When the Quarantined Until (UTC) time stamp has passed, a CAL-to-user association can be removed manually. To entirely remove a CAL-to-user association from the list, thus freeing a document CAL, click on the Delete icon,.

Note: The CAL-to-user association is formally deleted after the expiration time.
Note: The CAL will not be available for 7 days.

Did this information help you?

Thanks for letting us know. Is there anything you'd like to tell us about this topic?

Can you tell us why it did not help you and how we can improve it?