Documents

On the Documents tab, the settings for document control can be managed.

Server

Document Timeout

Open documents take up valuable system resources (that is, memory space, RAM, is allocated) and should not be allowed to remain open when not in use. However, if a document is closed too quickly, the users may get longer delay times when accessing the document, because the server has to reopen it. This value controls for how long a document will be allowed to be unused before the QlikView Server (QVS) closes the document and reclaims the resources.

Default value: 480 minutes.

Allow Document Download

Note: Allowing documents to be downloaded gives users access to the document, which might be a security risk.

Documents can be allowed to be downloaded by clients through the QlikView AccessPoint. To allow documents to be downloaded, tick this check box. To deny documents to be downloaded, untick this check box.

Allow Document Upload

New or updated documents can be allowed to be uploaded to the QlikView Server through the QlikView Distribution Service (QDS) in the QlikView Publisher (QVP). For this upload function to work, the QlikView Server is required to be defined as a resource in the QVP. And, if using the QVP, this upload function has to be allowed. To allow documents to be uploaded to the QlikView Server through the QDS, tick this check box. To deny documents to be uploaded to the QlikView Server through the QDS, untick this check box.

Note: Denying documents to be uploaded will stop all distributions from working.

Allow Only One Copy of Document in Memory

If there are changes to a document, for example, a reload or a layout change, the QVS can be configured to do either of the following options.

  • Force an immediate update of the document for the user during the session, that is, allowing only one version of a document. This will conserve memory resources on the QVS.
  • Await a new session, then update the document for the user. This may cause several copies of different versions of the document, residing in memory at the same time.

To allow only one version of the document in memory, tick this check box. To allow several versions of the document in memory, untick this check box.

Allow Print and Export to Excel

Documents can be allowed to be printed and exported to Microsoft Excel. To allow documents to be printed and exported, tick this check box. To deny documents to be printed or exported, untick this check box.

Note: In QlikView 11, touch-based clients cannot export documents to Microsoft Excel.

Allow Server Annotations

To enable server annotations, that is, to let clients present annotations for sheet objects in the documents, and to allow users to view, write, edit, and delete annotations, tick this check box. To disable server annotations, untick this check box.

Allow Session Collaboration

To allow users to share sessions on documents, tick this check box. To deny users to share sessions on documents, untick this check box.

Allow Server Objects

Note: When collaboration is disabled in the QlikView license (that is, the license contains DISABLE_COLLABORATION;YES;;), server objects and server bookmarks are not allowed. This means that the Allow Server Objects and Allow Anonymous Server Bookmarks check boxes cannot be checked when collaboration is disabled.

To allow the users to create server objects, that is, Sheet Objects and Reports, tick this check box. To deny the creation of server objects, untick this check box.

Note: When the check box is unticked, no server objects, except server bookmarks, can be created. For server bookmarks, unticking the check box only affects the possibility to share the bookmarks with other users.
  • Allow Anonymous Server Bookmarks
  • Anonymous users can be allowed to create bookmarks. The machine ID of the user client is used for ownership, and the user client has to allow persistent cookies to be created. To allow anonymous users to create bookmarks, tick this check box. To deny anonymous users to create bookmarks, untick this check box.

Allow Session Recovery

Session recovery saves the current selection state for each user when a session ends. It then re-applies the selection state the next time that the same user reconnects to the same document.

Note: Session recovery affects all users and documents on a server.

To allow session recovery, tick this check box. To disallow session recovery, untick this check box.

Objects

Allow Moving and Sizing Objects

All of the users can be allowed to move and resize the QlikView objects in the various clients. To allow all of the users to move and resize the QlikView objects, tick this check box. To deny all of the users to move and resize the QlikView objects, untick this check box.

Default Label for 'Total'

The default label for Totals in bar charts, pivot tables, and straight tables can be configured. To edit the default label for Totals, enter a descriptive name in this text box.

Default value: Total.

Default Label for 'Others'

The default label for Others in bar charts and pie charts can be configured. To edit the default label for Others, enter a descriptive name in this text box.

Default value: Others.