Skip to main content

Logging

In the Logging <Task_Name> window, you can set the logging level for the task you are currently monitoring as well as view, download, and delete log files.

Information note
  • Any changes to the task logging levels take effect immediately without needing to restart the task.

  • The logging level can also be set in the Logging Level sub-tab in the Task Settings dialog box. For more information, see Logging.

Setting the logging levels

  1. Drill-down to Monitor View as described in Viewing specific tasks.
  2. Then, click the Tools toolbar button and select Logging.

    The <Task_Name> Logging window opens.

  1. At the top of the <Task_Name> Logging window, set the Component Logging Level slider to the log level you want. This sets the logging level for all log modules. Note that all of the sliders for the individual modules move to the same position that you set in the main slider.
  2. Make any changes to the sliders for the individual modules. This is optional. Note that if you change the main slider, all of the individual sliders are reset to the new position. If you want to maintain a different logging level for a specific module, you need to reset it.

Storing trace and verbose logging in memory

Information note

This option is relevant to Replicate tasks only.

When the logging level is set to "Trace" or "Verbose", you can instruct Replicate to store the logging information in memory until an error occurs. On detecting an error, Replicate will begin writing to the physical logs and continue to do so for a few minutes after the initial occurrence of the error.

If no error occurs before the allocated memory is used up, Replicate will empty the memory buffer and start afresh.

This option is useful for tasks that fail unpredictably and for no obvious reason. The problem with continually writing large amounts of information to the logs is twofold:

  • Running in "Trace" or "Verbose" logging mode will quickly use up available disk space (unless the logging settings have been configured to prevent this).
  • Continually writing large amounts of data to the logs will affect performance.

To use this option

  1. Select the Store trace/verbose logging in memory, but if an error occurs, write to the logs check box at the top of the tab.
  2. In the Allocate memory up to (MB) field, specify the amount of memory you want to allocate for storing logging information.

Viewing and downloading logs

To view and download logs

  1. Drill-down to Monitor View as described in Viewing specific tasks.
  2. Then, click the Tools toolbar button and select Logging.

    The <Task_Name> Logging window opens.

  1. Select the log file you want to view or download from the list in the Log Files pane. If you want to download the file, skip to Step 7.
  2. The contents of the log file will be displayed in the right pane. When you select a row in the log file, a tooltip will be display the full message of the selected row.
  3. You can browse through the log file using the scroll bar on the right and the navigation buttons at the top of the window.
  4. To search for a specific string in the log file, enter the search string in the search box at the top of the window.

    Any terms that match the specified string will be highlighted blue.

  5. To download the log file, click the Download arrow icon toolbar button.

    Depending on your browser settings, one of the following will occur:

    • The task JSON file will be automatically downloaded to the default download location
    • You will be prompted for a download location. In this case, save the JSON file to your preferred location.

Deleting logs

To delete logs

  1. Drill-down to Monitor View as described in Viewing specific tasks.
  2. Then, click the Tools toolbar button and select Logging.

    The <Task_Name> Logging window opens.

  1. Click the Delete Logs button.

    The Delete Logs window opens.

  1. Optionally change the default number of days (45) and then click the Delete button.

    All log files older than the specified number of days will be deleted.